Watch and Learn

7 07 2012

Recently, for the first time, I was able to watch other Peace Corps Volunteers  in action. First, I traveled to the provincial town in Kampong Cham to observe a Camp GLOW. Five volunteers from Kampong Cham province brought together sixty high school girls for the empowerment camp. Over the course of three days, the girls learned about topics ranging from basic sexual anatomy to self-defense to project planning. I am grateful for the opportunity to not only talk with the camp organizers in depth about the planning and implementation of the camp, but also to witness the girls in action. I feel significantly more prepared (and excited!) for our camp next month. A huge shout out to the K Cham-ers on a job very well done!

Camp GLOW girls plan community projects

Then, on Friday, I traveled to Siem Reap to watch an exiting volunteer assist the Women’s Resource Center (remember them?) with a health education session. Again, what a great learning experience! At the session, I was introduced to a few new tools for teaching complex health topics, which I’ve already planned to incorporate into my existing projects. Plus, my anticipation for our Camp GLOW grew even more as I watched Pisey, who is slated to speak at our camp, interact with the young women she was teaching.

Based on how well these visits when, I’m definitely going to try to make more of an effort to observe other PCV projects. For me, the experience was both informative and inspiring.

Katie

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

